Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Official web site of the Province of Teramo

Teramo Turismo

Home Territory Towns and Villages Controguerra
Document Actions


Inhabited since prehistoric times, the picturesque borough of Controguerra, rises on top of a hill facing wonderful sceneries, that stretch from the Teramo coast to the Monti della Laga.

Built in 1370 on top of the remains of a Roman construction, the Donjon “Palazzo Ducale” towers above the whole village. This brick structure includes a square donjon.

The small Chapel Cappellina della Icona conserves a precious 17th-century fresco. The Church of S. Maria delle Grazie has three naves, a brick façade with rectilinear crowning, divided by double pilasters on each side of the entry and a gable centred on top of the architrave. The small sail form bell tower, bearing the 18th-century bells, inserted into the north side of the Church and the wall itself  are the result of renovation works done on the most ancient part of the construction during the 17th century.

A visit to the characteristic “pinciaie” is a must; these rural houses made of clay, most of the time without foundations, were built ever since prehistoric times with clay blocks which were left out to dry and than joined together by mixing straw, oat and water.

Every year in July, Controguerra hosts a Wine Festival, the “festa del vino”, the first of a long series of summer appointments celebrating the wine and gastronomy of this territory. This event was first organised to highlight the importance of this territory for the viticulture of the Province of Teramo; its vineyards stretch over 200 hectares and over 16.000 hectolitres of wine are produced every year by over 40 wine producers.

Teramo Turismo

This site conforms to the following standards: